Team List Vulcans Rd 1 Vs Manly

Game Information

01 Jan 1970 12:00PM

# Player Player #

VB NSW Cup Rd 1 Team Announcement - Auckland Vulcans v Manly

Saturday March 9, Brookvale Oval @ 3.00pm (NZT).
1. Zoram Watene
2. Bill Tupou
3. Dominic Peyroux
4. Malakai Watene
5. Ngani Laumape
6. Aaron Nootai
7. Harry Seijka
8. Suaia Matagi
9. Alehana Mara
10. Daniel Palavi
11. John Palavi
12. Siosiua Taukeiaho
13. Murray Iti
14. Siliva Havili
15. Agnatius Passi
16. Atelea Nafetalai
17. Steve Waetford
Coach: Willie Swann​
Good to see a few of the boys that are eligible for u20s playing in the vulcans. Good chance for them to get proper experience.


Warriors Orange Peeler
NSW Cup: Vulcans pipped by penalty

Richard Becht

Saturday 9 March 2013 9:09 PM

Vodafone Warrior Harry Siejka slotted four conversions in the Vulcans' 24-26 loss to Manly in Saturday's New South Wales Cup clash. Photo: Photosport.

A contentious penalty four minutes from time enabled Manly to break a 24-24 deadlock for a two-point win over the Auckland Vulcans in Saturday’s first-round New South Wales Cup contest at Brookvale Oval in Sydney.

While the Sea Eagles shout out to a 10-0 lead in the opening eight minutes, there was little in this encounter from then on.

In fact, the Vulcans had the lead three times, rebounding from the 0-10 deficit to go ahead 12-10 through tries to winger Ngani Laumape and standoff Aaron Nootai, both converted by halfback Harry Siejka.

After falling behind 12-14 soon after, they quickly regained the lead 18-14 through a converted Siliva Havili try, only to be on level terms 18-18 at the break.

Vodafone Warriors squad members Dominique Peyroux and John Palavi combined early in the second half to catapult the Vulcans into the lead yet again, Peyroux’s offload putting Palavi across for another converted try.

This was a classic arm wrestle, though, Manly responding in kind with a second Tom Symonds try to lock it up at 24-24 with 17 minutes still to play.
There it stayed until the Sea Eagles stole a late victory.
Match details:
At Brookvale Oval, Manly
Manly Sea Eagles 26 (Tom Symonds 2, Dane Chisholm, Jason Seage, Ligi Sao tries; Michael Chapman 2 conversions; Dane Chisholm penalty).
Auckland Vulcans 24 (Ngani Laumape, Aaron Nootai, Siliva Havili, John Palavi tries; Harry Siejka 4 conversions).
Halftime: 18-18.

Vulcans: Zoram Watene; Bill Tupou, Malakai Watene-Zelezniak, Dominique Peyroux, Ngani Laumape; Aaron Nootai, Harry Siejka; Suaia Matagi, Alehana Mara, Daniel Palavi; John Palavi, Sio Siua Taukeiaho; Murray Iti. Interchange: Siliva Havili, Agnatius Paasi, Atelea Nafetalai, Steve Waetford.