It will ignore all posts by that user, unless you directly navigate to their content.
If the ignored user has posted in a thread you are viewing, you will get 'show posts by ignored user' at the bottom. You can they choose to show their posts or not. All threads created by the 'ignored' user will be removed from your view.
p.s it only affects forum posts, not chat and maybe not status updates(havent tested it).