General Rugby Leagues Memory Lane

Reaction score
Hardyman's Yugo

Hardyman's Yugo

1st Grade Fringe
Reaction score
What gave him a head start was probably being the ugliest player ever to pull on an RL shirt, up against some stiff competition:D:D As a player he was before my time but I met him once, he served me a pint when I was a student.
How far back are we going Bruce? Can you recall Dick Huddart and Brian Edgar playing for GB or is that before your time?

Reaction score
bruce

bruce

Warriors 1st Grader
Contributor
Reaction score
What gave him a head start was probably being the ugliest player ever to pull on an RL shirt, up against some stiff competition:D:D As a player he was before my time but I met him once, he served me a pint when I was a student.
How far back are we going Bruce? Can you recall Dick Huddart and Brian Edgar playing for GB or is that before your time?
Excuse me while I wipe the tears of nostalgia brother. I was a kid then.

They were in the 1962 team that beat the Kangaroos 2 -1 in the series in Australia. Imagine that these days? Australia was a three day sail by steamship back then so I didn't get to go over:(.

However I saw all their games at Carlaw Park, including the game against Auckland. The Kiwi side won the series and Auckland beat them as well.

Carlaw Park was standing room only. The atmosphere was bloody electric. It was like an English ground where you could see and hear everything. Those Chooms were the real deal and for the Kiwi sides to beat them was very special.

That shows how very strong international and Auckland rugby league was back then.

Reaction score
Hardyman's Yugo

Hardyman's Yugo

1st Grade Fringe
Reaction score
Excuse me while I wipe the tears of nostalgia brother. I was a kid then.

They were in the 1962 team that beat the Kangaroos 2 -1 in the series in Australia. Imagine that these days? Australia was a three day sail by steamship back then so I didn't get to go over:(.