General Comic Books

snake77

Warriors 1st Grader
Jul 12, 2013
Auckland
Anyone on here into reading comic books?

There was a surge of comic book movies in the early 2000's and they are the big money makers at the box office at the moment. As I'm a fan of the movies I've been looking into the stories and hearing a lot about the stories the movies are based off.

Comics seem like a good medium for long running story arcs. I wasn't a big comic reader when I was young the few I did read were one off stories. Read some recently which cover multiple titles.

What are some of your favourite comics, story arcs?

snake77

Warriors 1st Grader
Jul 12, 2013
Auckland
A few years back I got a DC Masters of the Universe run of comics of about 19 titles which ran into a second 14 title Eternity War series.

I read the first one thinking it was 19 stories. Got to the end and thought this is weird it carries on. Got hooked on the story as it had a lot of twists to it.

• Love
Reactions: matiunz

Sup42

Warriors 1st Grader
May 7, 2012
I was a fan of the Phantom, the ghost who walks....and Spiderman comics as a kid.

Read war comics, I still use some one liners in daily life "die Englander die" my pom mates get a laugh outta that one if we are taking the piss out of Germans.

I used to read Asterix and Obelix.

I enjoy the comic book block buster movies, although for some reason I could not get into the Avengers.

Oh yeah musnt forget Murray Ball, we had all the footrot flats comic books. Read em all.

Reactions: Lenrat and matiunz

snake77

Warriors 1st Grader
Jul 12, 2013
Auckland
I had all of the Asterix books when I was young besides Asterix the Gaul and The Great Divide.

Still have them and brought the missing two plus some of the recent ones to read to my kids. The old ones have only just survived, mainly due to the paper aging.

The Falcon

1st Grade Fringe
Jun 20, 2017
Auckland
I had all of the Asterix books when I was young besides Asterix the Gaul and The Great Divide.